My Account

Loading...

Reads for Pride Month 2024

Home 

Reads for Pride Month 2024

pride 2024

The spectrum of love, gender, and sexuality is vivid and wide, and June is the perfect time to celebrate it. If you’re looking for some worthwhile novels to read in honor of Pride Month, here are some new & notable books by and about queer people that you can check out with your Livingston Library card. (Descriptions provided by the publishers)

rainbow black

Rainbow Black by Maggie Thrash

For readers of Donna Tartt and Ottessa Moshfegh comes a brilliant, deliriously entertaining novel from the acclaimed author of Honor Girl. Rainbow Black is part murder mystery, part gay international fugitive love story — set against the ’90s Satanic Panic and spanning 20 years in the life of a young woman pulled into its undertow. Lacey Bond is a 13-year-old girl in New Hampshire growing up in the tranquility of her hippie parents’ rural daycare center. Then the Satanic Panic hits. It’s the summer of 1990 when Lacey ‘s parents are handcuffed, flung into the county jail, and faced with a torrent of jaw-dropping accusations as part of a mass hysteria sweeping the nation. When a horrific murder brings Lacey to the breaking point, she makes a ruthless choice that will haunt her for decades. As an adult, Lacey mimes a normal life as the law clerk of an illustrious judge. She has a beautiful girlfriend, a measure of security, and the world has mostly forgotten about her. But after a tiny misstep spirals into an uncontrolled legal disaster, the hysteria threatens to begin all over again. Rainbow Black is an addictive, searing, high-octane triumph, an imaginative tour de force about one woman’s tireless desire to be free.

Cirque du Slay by Rob Osler

Pint-sized Seattle middle school teacher and gay dating blogger Hayden McCall and his best friend Hollister are invited to a fundraiser for Bakers Without Borders. The celebrity performer, Kennedy Osaka, is the artistic director of Mysterium, an upscale circus arts show combining magic, acrobatics, and a Michelin-star dinner. But Kennedy is a no-show–until she’s found dead in her hotel suite. When frenemy Sarah Lee is discovered in the room with the body, Hayden and Hollister are on the case to find the real culprit before Sarah Lee is charged with the crime. he suspects for the murder are as unique as Mysterium itself: a Russian trapeze artist, a cowgirl comedian sharp-shooter, an over-cologned operations director, a feisty, green-haired costume manager, and Adrenalin!, a sexy troop of Romanian male acrobats…If Hayden and Hollister are to clear Sarah Lee of suspicion, they’ll have to outsmart a killer for whom trickery is art.

Cinema Love by Jiaming Tang

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe

Stay in the loop and never miss out! Our weekly newsletter is the best way to stay informed on all things Library!
What are you waiting for?
Subscribe
22 July 2024
The Nordic countries are a geographical and cultural region in Northern Europe and the North Atlantic....
Read More
21 July 2024
Livingston Library Community, Do you enjoy popular fiction titles and discussing them with other readers?...
Read More
19 July 2024
More than 70 percent of our planet’s surface is covered by the oceans. Our ocean provides countless benefits...
Read More
18 July 2024
Whether they’re fighting for equal rights, competing in elite-level athletic competitions, or simply...
Read More
17 July 2024
Stop by the Youth Services Desk to pick up your Take Home Camera Craft and borrow some stories: Show...
Read More
17 July 2024
From brand-new albums by some of today’s hottest stars, to recently-unearthed recordings from the...
Read More
16 July 2024
Watercolor painting is one of the most accessible forms of art and has a rich history. More likely than...
Read More
15 July 2024
You voted and Legend listened–Legend visited Northland Recreation Center! All this week, you can come...
Read More
15 July 2024
July is the perfect month to grab a book to learn about the life and traditions of new characters. Consider...
Read More
14 July 2024
Livingston Library Community, There is nothing we love more at the Livingston Library than connecting...
Read More