My Account

Loading...

Read-Alikes for Kristin Hannah’s “The Women”

Home 

Read-Alikes for Kristin Hannah’s “The Women”

women read alikes

Are you looking forward to reading Kristin Hannah’s “The Women,” or have you already read it and are looking for more? Below are some read-alikes available to borrow from the Library. Please note that descriptions are taken from the publisher. 

absolution

Absolution by Alice McDermott

Print

You have no idea what it was like. For us. The women, I mean. The wives.

American women—American wives—have been mostly minor characters in the literature of the Vietnam War, but in Absolution they take center stage. Tricia is a shy newlywed, married to a rising attorney on loan to navy intelligence. Charlene is a practiced corporate spouse and mother of three, a beauty and a bully. In Saigon in 1963, the two women form a wary alliance as they balance the era’s mandate to be “helpmeets” to their ambitious husbands with their own inchoate impulse to “do good” for the people of Vietnam.

Come Fly the World by Julia Cooke 

Print | Ebook | Audiobook

A lively, unexpected portrait of the jet-age stewardesses serving on iconic Pan Am airways between 1966 and 1975.

Dust Child by Nguyễn Phan Quế Mai

Print | Ebook | Audiobook 

An American GI, two Vietnamese bar girls, and an Amerasian man are forced to make decisions during and after the Vietnam War that will reverberate throughout one another’s lives.

14th of sept

The Fourteenth of September by Rita Dragonette 

Ebook | Audiobook 

On September 14, 1969, Private First Class Judy Talton celebrated her nineteenth birthday by secretly joining the campus anti-Vietnam War movement. In doing so, she jeopardizes both the army scholarship that will secure her future and her relationship with her military family. But Judy’s doubts have escalated with the travesties of the war. Who is she if she stays in the army? What is she if she leaves?

Kinship Secrets by Eugenia Kim 

Print | Ebook | Audiobook 

The riveting story of two sisters, one raised in the United States, the other in South Korea, and the family that bound them together even as the Korean War kept them apart.

Sunshine Girls by Molly Fader 

Ebook | Audiobook 

1967 Iowa. Nursing school roommates BettyKay and Kitty don’t have much in common. BettyKay has risked her family’s disapproval to pursue her dreams away from her small town. Cosmopolitan Kitty has always relied on her beauty and smarts to get by and to hide a painful secret. Yet the two share a determination to prove themselves in a changing world, forging an unlikely bond on a campus unkind to women. 

Which of these titles are you looking forward to reading the most? We can’t wait to see you at the Library! 

-Jessica, Head of Adult Services & Acquisitions 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe

Stay in the loop and never miss out! Our weekly newsletter is the best way to stay informed on all things Library!
What are you waiting for?
Subscribe
19 June 2024
Did you know that there is more than one Independence Day celebrated in the US? Juneteenth-also known...
Read More
18 June 2024
D-Day is one of history’s greatest and most unbelievable military and human triumphs. It was the...
Read More
17 June 2024
Summer is here, and this year we are super excited to discover the adventure that awaits at our library...
Read More
16 June 2024
Livingston Library Community, “Adventure Begins at Your Library” and so does summer fun! We invite you...
Read More
14 June 2024
Nature is welcoming us. It’s time to start planning an outside adventure for you and your family. The...
Read More
13 June 2024
This month, we’re showing two critically acclaimed films on the big screen in our program room....
Read More
12 June 2024
Celebrate Juneteenth with a Juneteenth Take Home Craft and some stories Juneteenth : Our Day of Freedom Juneteenth Opal...
Read More
12 June 2024
The spectrum of love, gender, and sexuality is vivid and wide, and June is the perfect time to celebrate...
Read More
11 June 2024
Alzheimer’s and Brain Awareness Month is observed in June as an opportunity to spread information about...
Read More
10 June 2024
This month on L-Town Radio, Joe talks with our own Amy Babcock about her lifelong love of libraries,...
Read More
The library will be closed Friday, June 21st in observance of Juneteenth.
The library will be closed Friday, June 21st in observance of Juneteenth.