Young Adult Non-Fiction that Reads like Fiction

copy of on display in ya (1)

All book descriptions are from the publisher unless otherwise indicated. The 57 Bus by Dashka Slater   One teenager in a skirt. One teenager with a lighter. One moment that changes both of their lives forever. If it weren’t for the 57 bus, Sasha and Richard never would have met. Both were high school students from […]

On Display in YA – Banned Books, Let Freedom Read

on display in ya

October 2023 All book descriptions are from the publisher unless otherwise indicated. The Absolutely True Diary of Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie Budding cartoonist Junior leaves his troubled school on the Spokane Indian Reservation to attend an all-white farm town school where the only other Indian is the school mascot. Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson […]

On Display in YA – Graphic Novel Hidden Gems

on display in ya

September 2023 All book descriptions are from the publisher unless otherwise indicated. Another Kind by Trevor Bream Six kids search for a new place to call home in this middle grade graphic novel debut by comic creators Cait May and Trevor Bream, for fans of Marvel’s Runaways and The Witch Boy by Molly Knox Ostertag. […]

September Teen Take and Make – Wooden Keychains

september 2023 teen take make 1920 × 1080 px 1

Stop by the YA Desk beginning Monday, September 18th, to pick up a teen and make craft!  This month, teens in grades 6-12 will be able to assemble and decorate their own wooden bookmark.  Kits are available while supplies last and made possible by the Friends of the Livingston Library. – Gail Lordi (Youth Services […]

On Display in YA – Hispanic Heritage Month

on display in ya

September 2023 All book descriptions are from the publisher unless otherwise indicated. Clap When You Land by Elizabeth Acevedo Camino Rios lives for the summers when her father visits her in the Dominican Republic. But this time, on the day when his plane is supposed to land, Camino arrives at the airport to see crowds […]

On Display in YA – Murder Mystery Books

on display in ya

Relax after school with a page turning whodunnit. September 2023 All book descriptions are from the publisher unless otherwise indicated. Ace of Spades by Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé At Niveus Private Academy, Devon and Chiamaka are the only students chosen to be Senior Prefects who are also black, which makes them targets for a series of anonymous […]